BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Information Technology

Entry Requirements

Ideally a grade 5  or above in Maths/English

Pass in ICT qualification (preferred)

Strong work ethic

Course Structure

360 Guided Learning Hours

4 Units of which 3 are mandatory and 2 are external

For more information contact

Mr E Williams

Mr R Tait


BTEC qualifications are designed to provide specialist work-related qualifications in a range of sectors. They have been developed to provide the knowledge, understanding and skills necessary to prepare students for employment or further education. This level 3 qualification is the equivalent to an A-Level and carries the same UCAS points.

This qualification is designed for learners who are interested in an introduction to the study of creating IT systems to manage and share information, alongside other fields of study, with a view to progressing to a wide range of higher education courses, not necessarily in IT.

Assessment framework

The assessment approach of the BTEC feedback on their progress throughout the course as they provide evidence towards the grading criteria. Evidence for assessment may be generated through a range of diverse activities including assignment and project work, case studies, role play and verbal presentation.

Assessment will be measured in three key forms – external, internal and synoptic.

Externally assessed units

Each external assessment for a BTEC National is linked to a specific unit. All of the units developed for external assessment are of 90 GLH to allow learners to demonstrate breadth and depth of achievement. Each assessment is taken under specified conditions, then marked and a grade awarded. Learners must achieve all external units at pass or above. Learners are permitted to resit any external assessment only once during their programme. External assessments are available once or twice a year.

Internally assessed units

Most units in the sector are internally assessed and subject to external standards verification. This will take the form of:

Writing up the findings of your own research

Using case studies to explore complex or unfamiliar situations

Carrying out projects for which you will have choice over the direction and outcomes

Demonstrating a range of practical and technical skills using appropriate tools/ processes etc.

Synoptic assessment

Synoptic assessment requires you to demonstrate that you can identify and use effectively, in an integrated way, an appropriate selection of skills, techniquesm concepts, theories and knowledge from across the whole sector as relevant to a key task.

Grading for units and qualifications

Units are assessed using a grading scale of Distinction, Merit, Pass and Unclassified. All mandatory and optional units contribute proportionately to the overall qualification grade, for example a unit of 120 GLH will contribute doublt that of a 60 GLH unit.

Qualifications in the suite are graded using a scale of P to D. Students who do not achieve a level 3 may be awarded a Certificate grade, providing they complete and pass units 2 and 3. Learners whose level of achievement is below will achieve an unclassified U result.