BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate

Entry Requirements

4 GCSEs at grade C (or numerical grade 5) or above including English

Course Structure

Year 12 – National Certificate

3 Mandatory Units:

1. Human Lifespan Development (External assessment by exam)

2. Working in Health and Social Care (External assessment by exam)

5. Meeting individual care and support needs (Internal assessment)

1 Optional Unit:

Details TBC.

For more information contact

Mrs L Wilson

Course Description

The course over a two year period consists of 4 units, 3 of which are mandatory and 2 are externally assessed, following a written exam. Students are required to participate in work based experience of a minimum of 30 hours. This particular element of the course is extremely important and must be completed in order for learners to complete the course.

Unit 1

This unit offers you opportunities to develop your knowledge and understanding of patterns of human growth and development. You will explore the key aspects of growth and development, and the experience of health and wellbeing. You will also learn about factors that can influence human growth, development and human health. Some of these are inherited and some are acquired through environmental, social or financial factors during our lifespan. You will learn about a number of theories and models to explain and interpret behaviour through the human lifespan. In addition you will explore the impact of both predictable and unpredictable life events, and recognise how they impact on individuals. You will study the interaction between the physical and psychological factors of the ageing process, and how this affects confidence and self-esteem, which in turn may determine how individuals will view their remaining years.

Unit 2

This unit will help you to understand what it is like to work in the health and social care sector. When working for an organisation in this sector, you will have important responsibilities that you need to understand and carry out. You will need to understand how you will be accountable both to these individuals and the regulatory bodies that represent people who work in the health and social care sector. It is also necessary for you to understand how your work will be monitored when you carry out a

specific role such as nurse or social worker. This unit will allow you to explore the range of roles and general responsibilities of people who work in health and social care settings. You will learn about the organisations that provide services in this sector, and the different settings in which these services are delivered according to the needs of the service user. You will learn about the ways these services are provided and about the barriers that can prevent people from getting the services they need.

Unit 5

This unit will allow you to broaden your knowledge about the values and principles of meeting care and support needs and look at some of the ethical issues that arise when personalising care. You will examine factors that can impact on the professionals who provide the care and support, and the challenges that must be overcome to allow access to good quality care and health services. You will explore the different methods used by professionals across all care services. You will reflect on these methods when you consider the importance of multi-agency working in providing a package of care and support that meets all the needs of individuals. In this unit you will draw on your learning from across your programme to complete assessment tasks. This unit will be very useful if you are intending to pursue a career in social care or healthcare, for instance as a social worker or health visitors, practice nurse or occupational therapist. The unit will also be invaluable if you wish to progress to higher education, to degrees in areas such as health and social care management, social work and nursing.

Plus one optional unit.

Please contact Mrs Wilson for more information.